I have to admit, when I first heard of this tiny house thing, I didn’t think much of it. When it got more popular, I thought it was silly, weird and kind of stupid. But after really looking at some of them, I started realizing that the more I looked, the less stupid it seemed. In fact, it started seeming genius. Especially for me.

You see, I’ve been doing this whole scaled down living thing my whole life. I have always been a person who owns very few things. I am able to discard or walk away from possessions very easily and am not very concerned with acquiring things. I often only own one or two pairs of jeans, one pair of shoes, etc. My room as a teenager had a mattress, a dresser and a tv. That’s it. As an adult, I routinely live in just one room in the house, usually the living room. I once lived in a house with 4 bedrooms and only slept in one of those bedrooms a handful of times in 4 years. I have had apartments and townhomes where the bedrooms stood completely empty the entire time I lived there. I have lived in motel rooms with my family for months at a time. The lack of space never bothered me.

Ironically, for all the things I thought about it being silly, I’m exactly the kind of person tiny houses were made for. I think I just needed to let go of the idea that there is a certain way you have to live. Now that I have, I have embraced the tiny house movement wholeheartedly. And I think it could solve one of our biggest hurdles on the road to Alaska: where we will live. After all, you just bring your tiny house with you wherever you go.

Leave a Reply

